Toastmasters Charter Ceremony

On Tuesday, April 5th UCONN School of Business Toastmasters club facilitated a Charter Ceremony at the GBLC, 2nd Floor Observation Deck. This ceremony marked the official recognition of the club by UCONN and International Toastmasters Community.

Apart from toastmasters, students and faculty members from MSBAPM, FRM and MBA were also invited along with their families and friends.

The President of the Toastmasters Club, Suresh, commenced the meeting by welcoming the guests followed by the club sponsors, Heather McLarney and Ahren Niles extending invitations to Prof. Jose Cruz, Prof. Ram Gopal and Anna. They conveyed their best wishes to the club and emphasized the importance of such a club and appreciated the potential benefit this club could provide to the student community of UCONN.

The club mentors assigned to this club are Steve Burgess and Rick Kominowksi . Beth Langdon,  a Division Director and Sharon Mercado,  a District Director played instrumental roles in formulating this club. The meeting was followed by the charter presentation ceremony where the Club Charter was presented to the Club Officers.

The leadership team of the Toastmasters Club comprises of the following members, Suresh Shanmugham [President]Shyma Nair [Vice President Education]Haardik Sharma [Vice President Public Relations]Sudeepta Chandel [Vice President Membership]Sunny Dalsania [Secretary]Michael Luo [Treasurer]Samiresh Udutha [Sergeant at Arms], Mahesh Pai [Sergeant at Arms].

Till date, there are 30+ toastmasters enrolled with the club. The Toastmasters Club at UConn aims at building confident public speakers and strong leaders. The Club provides a supportive, learn by practice environment which helps students strengthen their communication skills, overcome stage fear and an overall personality development.

If you have stage fear, then the TM Club is unequivocally, the best antidote. It is a superb platform to learn, practice and experience power of communication.

The Toastmasters club operates every Thursday from 4.30 PM to 5.30 PM.

Interested students can contact Haardik Sharma (2019937846), to enjoy a free guest session of Toastmasters Meeting.

IMG_0536 IMG_0530